The Industrial business line of ACCIONA is a member of a consortium that carried out the EPC contract for the 50 MW Bokpoort Solar Thermal Plant in Northern Cape, South Africa.

    The solar thermal plant has a gross installed capacity of 55 MW with two thermal energy storage (TES) tanks with a diameter of 36/40 metres and a height of 18 metres. They contain molten salt that provides 9.3 hours of operation (1,300 MWht), using parabolic trough technology with 180 loops, 150 metres of collectors, and a Siemens turbine. The project involved moving 600,000 m3 of land; 9,000 foundations; and 200,000 inches of welding.

    In September 2016, this project was named "Best Renewable Energy Project in 2016" by the South African National Energy Association. During its first month of commercial operations, the plant demonstrated its storage capacity, producing electricity for a continuous period of 161 hours, or the equivalent of six days, setting a record for performance with this technology in Africa.

    The project was also recognised for the contribution renewable energy makes to the socio-economic development of the local communities.



    • Thermal storage using molten salts for 9.3 hours
    • 180 loops in solar farm
    • Recognised as Best Renewable Energy Project in 2016 (by South African National Energy Association)


    Northern Cape, South Africa
    ACWA Power
    50 MWe
    Contract type
    EPC - Engineering, Procurement, Construction, and Commissioning
    Parabolic trough collectors with thermal storage using molten salts for 9.3 hours
    Year construction ended

    Image Gallery

    discover other flagship projects

    Noor I

    Ouarzazate, Morocco

    The Industrial business line of ACCIONA took part in the construction of this 160 MW solar thermal energy plant in the province of Ouarzazate, Morocco. This marks the largest contract awarded to a Spanish company in Morocco.


    Northern Cape, South Africa

    ACCIONA has completed the construction of this 100 MW solar thermal power plant in the province of Northern Cape, South Africa.

    Move up